Warped American Dream

by Doug Draime

No one in my
home town knew
the connection
between
Little Richard
and
Norman Mailer

I would listen
to Long Tall Sally
and
the flip side
Jenny, Jenny
on my 45 RPM
locked up in
my room
for days,
while I read
Mailer’s White Negro

My father and grandparents
wanted to have me
committed
and my chicken shit friends
bad mouthed
me behind
my back,
because I
listened to
nigger music
and read
strange books

Sex/ drinking/
reading and
rock ‘n roll
were the only
things that
filled me with
life and
wonderment
Everything else
was dead
and false

I was surrounded
by bigots
and the ignorant,
even those my
age whose
spirits and
possibilities
had been
blotted or
wiped out
somehow,
or maybe
they were born
that way:
poor white
trash
the mutated
off shoots
of the warped
American
dream

This entry was posted in Doug Draime. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

